Distance Learning

Distance learning
Sierra Sands/Murray Middle School Distance Learning 

Information and Resources


Welcome to the Distance Learning information and resources page developed to provide Sierra Sands parents and students with support.  We recognize that this is a challenging time for us all and we want to strengthen our partnership with you to ensure our students’ success.  This page will be updated regularly to provide the latest information available.


What is the Sierra Sands TK-12 Distance Learning model?

Teachers will provide high quality educational opportunities to students through the Canvas Learning Management System (LMS).  Please see more detailed information below on logging into Canvas.


What is the expectation for student learning?  

Just as we welcome students onto our campuses and into our classrooms, we welcome them into the “virtual classrooms” through Canvas. Just as students are expected to enter through the physical door of a classroom, students and families should “enter” their classrooms through the Canvas platform and sign in.  All Sierra Sands students should continue to engage in learning during school closures.

Murray DL Schedule 

Technology/Internet Support


What if I need a learning device/Chromebook?

Contact your site administrator, Cody Pearce (cpearce@ssusd.org) to request a Chromebook.  It is best to communicate with site principals by email.


What if I need internet?

Contact Tech Support at techsupport@ssusd.org  to request internet support. 


What if I need help with my device or need technological support?

Email techsupport@ssusd.org with questions about technology or devices. 


Canvas Platform


What is Canvas?

Canvas is a learning management system that supports online learning and teaching. It allows teachers to post grades, information, and assignments online. Canvas offers discussion boards for asynchronous discussions, chat rooms for live discussions, centralized email (Canvas Conversations), so you can stay in touch with your teacher and communicate with other students, and even a way to submit assignments and take exams. Canvas provides a password-protected online classroom to submit work and communicate with the teacher and classmates. Note that the teacher uses the tools provided by Canvas to create his or her own virtual classroom, so just as face-to-face courses vary significantly, so will online courses.Canvas provides the tools to support online learning in a variety of ways. This can range from structured learning pathways to dynamic, interactive virtual classrooms. How a course is presented online depends on the content and complexity of the learning material, and the delivery methodology used by the teacher.


Parent Guide to Canvas


Navigating the Canvas Dashboard-English


Navigating the Canvas Dashboard-Spanish


Navigating the Canvas Classroom-English


Navigating the Canvas Classroom-Spanish


How does my student login to Canvas?


Canvas will integrate with your student’s SSUSD email account. If the student is using a district-provided Chromebook, they will sign into the Chromebook using their SSUSD email and the Ssusd number.

Next, they will need to open Google Chrome and access the district CANVAS dashboard through the Google “WAFFLE”  which is located in the top right corner of the screen. Then locate Canvas SSO on the menu.

If for some reason the waffle does not show up then go to the following website: https://ssusd.instructure.com/. This should automatically enter the student into the system and straight to their dashboard which contains their fall courses (secondary) or their classroom with their teacher (elementary).


If the student is using a personal computer/device, students will go to Google and sign in with their district Google account. Once they are in the account they will be able to access Canvas through the waffle.


What if I have a question about an assignment?

Contact your student’s teacher through email. Please see the teacher contact list below.


Murray Contact Information


Teacher Name

Subject

Email

Abshire, Connie

Social Studies

cabshire@ssusd.org

Adkins, Kyra

Science

kadkins@ssusd.org

Arrieta, Melanie

English

marrieta@ssusd.org

Barnes, Anthony

PE

abarnes@ssusd.org

Bendickson, Elizabeth

English

ebendickson@ssusd.org

Benson, Andrea

Science

abenson@ssusd.org

Blackwell, Nancy

RSP

nblackwell@ssusd.org

Brannon, Gillian

RSP

gbrannon@ssusd.org

Brouchoud, Michelle

Science

mbrouchoud@ssusd.org

Cane, Crystal

SDC

ccane@ssusd.org

Carrillo, Brianna

Spanish

bcarrillo@ssusd.org

Coit, Maria

Art

mcoit@ssusd.org

Dahms, Susan

Math

sdahms@ssusd.org

Davis, Sarah

Counselor

sadavis@ssusd.org

Finnerty, Colleen

PE

cfinnerty@ssusd.org

Garfield, Amber

Math

agarfield@ssusd.org

Gilmartin, Alice

English

agilmartin@ssusd.org

Godinez, Kellyanne

Social Science

kgodinez@ssusd.org

Hailey, Kaitlin

English

khailey@ssusd.org

Harper, Lisa

English

lharper@ssusd.org

Hatter, Mark

Band

mhater@ssusd.org

Hope, Bob

PE

bhope@ssusd.org

Mackey, Ashley

Math

amackey@ssusd.org

Metz, Mitchell

Math

mmetz@ssusd.org

Miller-Costanzo, Heidi

Social Science

hcostanzo@ssusd.org

Olinger, Laura

Orchestra

lolinger@ssusd.org

Ornellas, Kylie

Counselor

kornellas@ssusd.org

Perry, Jennifer

SDC

jperry@ssusd.org

Kara Tolbert

English/Soc. Science

ktolbert@ssusd.org

Werneking, Wendy

SDC

wwerneking@ssusd.org

Wheeler, Gina

PE

gwheeler@ssusd.org

Wilcox, Laurel

Science

lwilcox@ssusd.org

Zurn, Robin

Social Studies

rzurn@ssusd.org





Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.