Distance Learning

Sierra Sands/Murray Middle School Distance Learning 

Information and Resources


Welcome to the Distance Learning information and resources page developed to provide Sierra Sands parents and students with support during school closures.  We recognize that this is a challenging time for us all and we want to strengthen our partnership with you to ensure our students’ success. This page will be updated regularly to provide the latest information available.


What is the Sierra Sands TK-12 Distance Learning model?

Teachers will provide high quality educational opportunities to students through the Google platform.  Please see more detailed information below on logging into the Google Classroom.


TK-8th Grade Instructional Packets/March 23-April 3:  10 Day Instructional packets were initially provided to TK-8th grade.  Packets can be accessed at 10 Day Instructional Packets/March 23-April 3.


Out of an abundance of caution and to ensure the safety of both families and staff, we will not require the physical collection of the 10 day instructional packets.  Teachers/school sites will assign either credit or no credit to students. Students who have not yet completed packets will have until the last day of the school year to verify completion and receive credit.  Students/parents may demonstrate completion in one of two ways: 1) sending an email to the TK-5th grade teacher or 6th-8th grade advisory teacher stating that the packet has been completed or 2) uploading/taking a picture of the signed assignment tracker and emailing it to the teacher/submitting through Google Classroom.


What is the expectation for student learning?  

Just as we welcome students onto our campuses and into our classrooms, we welcome them into the “virtual classrooms” through Google Classroom.  Just as students are expected to enter through the physical door of a classroom, students and families should “enter” their classrooms through the Google platform and sign in.  All Sierra Sands students should continue to engage in learning during school closures. 


Technology/Internet Support


What if I need a learning device/Chromebook?

Contact your site administrator, Cody Pearce (cpearce@ssusd.org) to request a Chromebook.  It is best to communicate with site principals by email during school closures.

The device distribution protocol as of April 3, 2020 is as follows:

High School/Middle School students: 1 device per student as the learning expectations will require extended screen time.

Elementary students: 1 device per two students in a family as the learning expectations will require appropriate screen time based on the age and development of the students.


What if I need internet?

Contact your site administrator, Cody Pearce (cpearce@ssusd.org) to request internet support. It is best to communicate with site principals by email during school closures.


What if I need help with my device or need technological support?

Email techsupport@ssusd.org with questions about technology or devices. 


Google Platform/Classroom


What is Google Classroom?

Google worked with educators across the country to create Classroom: a streamlined, easy-to-use tool that helps teachers manage coursework. With Classroom, educators can create classes, distribute assignments, grade and send feedback, and see everything in one place.With Classroom, teachers and students can sign in from any computer or mobile device to access class assignments, course materials, and feedback.


See “The Parents’ Guide to Google Classroom” for more detailed information: Parents' Guide to Google Classroom


How does my student login to Google Classroom?


 

What if I have a question about an assignment?

Contact your student’s teacher through email. Please see the teacher contact list below.

 

Parent Resources


2020 Parents’ Guide to Google Classroom?  Parents' Guide to Google Classroom


Tips for Parents Navigating Online Learning (summarized from Ladders-Fast on Your Feet):


1. Make space for learning.  Choose the quietest space in your home during learning time.


2. Make time/schedule for learning.  Routines are very important for students, especially in times of stress.  Try to maintain a consistent learning schedule that works best for your family’s needs.  


3. Take a break.  Allow time in between learning for snacks or “recess”.  


4. Support your student.  Students will need support to be successful during Distance Learning.  It is okay to ask questions and to have questions. Please reach out for support through emailing your student’s teacher or principal. We are in this together!



Murray Contact Information

Teacher Name

Subject

Email

Abshire, Connie

Social Studies

cabshire@ssusd.org

Adkins, Kyra

Science

kadkins@ssusd.org

Arrieta, Melanie

English

marrieta@ssusd.org

Austin, Simon

Band/Vocal Music

saustin@ssusd.org

Bailey, Stephanie

Counselor

sbailey@ssusd.org

Barnes, Anthony

PE

abarnes@ssusd.org

Bendickson, Elizabeth

English

ebendickson@ssusd.org

Benson, Andrea

Science

abenson@ssusd.org

Blackwell, Nancy

RSP

nblackwell@ssusd.org

Brouchoud, Michelle

Science

mbrouchoud@ssusd.org

Campbell, Mary

Science

mcampbell@ssusd.org

Carrillo, Brianna

Spanish

bcarrillo@ssusd.org

Champeny, Kathleen

Science

kchampeny@ssusd.org

Clark, Paloma

Math

pclark@ssusd.org

Cleveland, Terri

English

tcleveland@ssusd.org

Coit, Maria

Art

mcoit@ssusd.org

Davis, Sarah

Counselor

sadavis@ssusd.org

Dahms, Susan

Math/Soc. Science

sdahms@ssusd.org

Finnerty, Colleen

PE

cfinnerty@ssusd.org

Garfield, Amber

Math

agarfield@ssusd.org

Gilmartin, Alice

English

agilmartin@ssusd.org

Godinez, Kellyanne

Social Science

kgodinez@ssusd.org

Grainger, Amber

Social Science

amgrainger@ssusd.org

Harper, Lisa

English

lharper@ssusd.org

Lukacs, Crissie

Math/Elective

clukacs@ssusd.org

MacKenzie, Shelley

Science

smackenzie@ssusd.org

McKee, Aisha

RSP

amckee@ssusd.org

Miller-Costanzo, Heidi

Social Science

hcostanzo@ssusd.org

Osman, Runda

SDC

rosman@ssusd.org

Olinger, Laura

Orchestra

lolinger@ssusd.org

Perry, Jennifer

SDC

jperry@ssusd.org

Soper, Andrew

Math

asoper@ssusd.org

Welsh, Tami

Math

twelsh@ssusd.org

Wheeler, Gina

PE

gwheeler@ssusd.org

Zurn, Robin

Social Studies

rzurn@ssusd.org


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.